The Sociopath Personality

The Sociopath

I have been writing a personality column for Natural Health, where each month I provide some insight into different personalities. Here is some insight into The Sociopath. Does this sound like anyone you know?

 

Meet the Sociopath; the person without a conscience. Sociopaths are extremely narcissistic individuals driven primarily by the immediate gratification of their own needs, with no regard for others. Frequently, they are skillful at drawing out and manipulating people’s sympathy – usually by portraying themselves as victims of some misfortune. Consequently, they often get away with murder, both literally and figuratively.

 

It can be difficult to spot a Sociopath, which is why many achieve excellence in various careers, have families, and blend in easily within society. They could be your mother, your brother, your neighbour, or a work colleague. This is why those Sociopaths who commit antisocial deeds are often only caught long after the act. Nevertheless, while they might be difficult to detect straight away, here are some tell-tale signs:

 

  • They will make an effort to win your sympathy.

  • They use charm to get people to like them.

  • They are extremely selfish, and value instant gratification to the point where they’ll think nothing of harming others who stand in their way.

  • They lack empathy, and have no affection or consideration for others.

  • They have a tendency to make you feel like you owe them something or that you are just like them.

  • They have little interest in anyone or anything from which they can’t gain personally.

  • They are masters at deception.

 

Positives

Unlike other personality types, there is virtually nothing good about Sociopaths. This is because any charm and ability to entertain that they have is likely to be used to entrap and manipulate you into owing them something in return. While their ability to observe, read and understand social behaviour is nothing short of remarkable, they use this knowledge to convincingly mimic real feelings others have but they don’t.

 

Negatives

The Sociopath often leaves you in a state of anguish and misery. After spending time with a Sociopath, you are likely to feel the following:

 

  • You have been used and the person doesn’t care about you.

  • If you don’t do what they ask of you, or fail to sympathise with them, they make you feel guilty.

  • You feel the person takes advantage of your kindness, and does nothing to give back in return.

  • The person often leaves you feeling afraid, worried, or confused.

 

In addition, the Sociopath:

 

  • Refuses to take responsibility for anything, and is quick to blame others for mishaps.

  • Lies to you and others repeatedly.

  • Has emotionally or physically hurt others a number of times without expressing any remorse.

 

How do I Deal with a Sociopath?

If you have good reason to suspect somebody you often interact with is a Sociopath, avoid the person altogether if possible. If this isn’t possible, keep your distance. These people are immune to being helped, and have no interest in getting treatment; after all, there’s nothing wrong with them, as far as they are concerned.

 

Don’t fall for their pretentious charming qualities or flattery – they often go to the extreme with this, even if they don’t know you. Resist feeling brave and thinking you can outsmart a Sociopath through arguments or playing their seductive games. Your task is to protect yourself, not to get lured into their dangerous traps. Remember, these individuals don’t care about you or anyone else.

 

Am I a Sociopath?

You could be a Sociopath if you:

 

  • Harm others without feeling any guilt or remorse.

  • Have no problem disregarding other people’s rights in order to get what you want.

  • Often use the phrase, “You owe me.”

  • Lie and deceive easily and without care.

  • Don’t think about the consequences your plans or actions will have on others.

  • Treat people as little more than pawns, who are primarily there for your amusement.

  • Like pitting one person against the other, often contriving lies and casting blame in the process.

  • Have no problem humiliating someone in public or undermining another person’s good efforts.

  • Have no meaningful relationships, and feel no affection for anybody.

 

 

Sociopath versus Psychopath: What’s the Difference?

Both Psychopaths and Sociopaths have a complete disregard for the feelings of others and feel no remorse or guilt when hurting others. The distinction between these two personality types, however, is that Psychopaths are more flamboyant and like others to see certain aspects of their personality. Sociopaths, on the other hand, take great efforts to hide the negative aspects of their personality. 



Categories: Psychology

Tags: , , , , , ,

9 replies

  1. This really has helped me big time. A friend of mine for years ended up using me and my husband for her use she tried to destroy my marriage and now is attacking me physically and emotionally with no regard that we were once friends. I have a great deal of empathy for her but am not taking anymore of her stuff via law is involved now. Very scary situation and her actions have put fear in me but to the eye of everyone else her life is perfect even though it is so far from that. I do feel empathy for her but know this is a condition you cant change. Wow big eye opener but thank you so much.

  2. First of all, thank you for sharing. I am so sorry to hear the trauma that you are going through at the moment with this Sociopath. The fact that you still have empathy for this person says so much about you and all of it is positive. I commend you for the strength this demonstrates. I do hope that with the law involved you can put this to rest and start to get on with your life. If you are able to share more or even provide an update, I would be interested to know how this ends.

  3. Thank you for this article, unfortunately I am feeling the wrath of my ex who I strongly believe to be a sociopath.
    We have children, any advice on how to keep them safe would be most welcome thank you x

  4. My son’s Father is a sociopath. It took me awhile to realize that he was reflecting his horrible personality onto myself. We have been fighting for custody for 2 years. He has lied to everyone and the court about me. He keeps advocating that keeping my son from me us for my son’s health. But it is his way of paying me back for leaving. We used to argue. I would try to leave he would 1.get violent or 2.threaten me with my son, and that if I left he would do everything in his power to keep me from him.
    Here I am 2yrs safe from him and son-less. He has manipulated the court into believing everything he is, is me. I don’t know how to change this. With a lawyer, GAL, therapist…still being left out of my sons life. He is the worst human you could meet, but the best sociopath ever. Yes there is the fact he can manipulate very smart adults. So can you imagine how easy it it for him to manipulate a 6 yr old.
    When you stated they think there is nothing wrong with them. You wouldn’t believe how true that is. My ex used to say, “I’m normal, everyone else is crazy” the world is the problem. He never makes a mistake. He answers questions with questions. And only keeps people around in his life that 1.serve a purpose 2.who he believes to be smarter than 3.and the occasional person who he just met and hasn’t realized who he is.
    If you have any tips on how to deal with this please feel free.

    • OMG I can do much feel for you but seriously what did you do/not do for him to have such great influence on the court. My ex is also a crazy freaky sociopath and he obviously uses my daughter as a weapon but since action speaks louder than words he can twist and say whatever he wants he wouldn’t stand a chance at court.

  5. My son’s Father is a sociopath. It took me awhile to realize that he was reflecting his horrible personality onto myself. We have been fighting for custody for 2 years. He has lied to everyone and the court about me. He keeps advocating that keeping my son from me is for my son’s health. But it is his way of paying me back for leaving. We used to argue. I would try to leave he would 1.get violent or 2.threaten me with my son, and that if I left he would do everything in his power to keep me from him.
    Here I am 2yrs safe from him and son-less. He has manipulated the court into believing everything he is, is me. I don’t know how to change this. With a lawyer, GAL, therapist…still being left out of my sons life. He is the worst human you could meet, but the best sociopath ever. Yes there is the fact he can manipulate very smart adults. So can you imagine how easy it it for him to manipulate a 6 yr old.
    When you stated they think there is nothing wrong with them. You wouldn’t believe how true that is. My ex used to say, “I’m normal, everyone else is crazy” the world is the problem. He never makes a mistake. He answers questions with questions. And only keeps people around in his life that 1.serve a purpose 2.who he believes to be smarter than 3.and the occasional person who he just met and hasn’t realized who he is.
    If you have any tips on how to deal with this please feel free.

  6. I have a sister who is a sociopath. She has a son who is 16 months that she had after a one night stand. She believed the father would pay her “what he owes her.” She moved back home with my loving parents-at 38 because she did beloved she is too good to have a job. She also has been stealing from them, thousands of dollars as they were also paying for a lawyer for child support. When she forged checks to a therapist, they say enough. She threatened them, threatened my teenage sisters and came to my home because no one would take her in. She was given several months to get a job-per our agreement and when questioned said she never agreed to this and could stay as long as she wanted. I gave her 30 days as my nephew is also in my home. She blames anything broken on him and my neighbors have heard her as I have screaming swearing and being verbally abusive. I want my nephew to be safe and my heart is broken that she does not see how she has hurt my family or her son. However I am frightened and exhausted. What do I do?

  7. You wrote: “These people are immune to being helped, and have no interest in getting treatment; after all, there’s nothing wrong with them, as far as they are concerned.” From the perspective of an amateur, someone NOT graduated in psychology or psychiatry, I would say the same is a kinda truism on the Narcissist, Backstabber, and that Energy Vampire just the same? Rhetorical Question.

    I agree on ‘normal peoples’ focus being on protecting themselves and not helping any villain, saboteur or antagonist instead! Thanks for the interesting article.

Leave a Reply

